God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

The Harry Potter finale secret

Posted by Martin on July 19, 2007

WARNING – IF YOU’RE TRYING TO AVOID POTTER PLOT SPECULATION, MAYBE DON’T READ ON… 

There’s been a lot of talk about plot leaks of the seventh and final Harry Potter novel, and particularly Internet spoilers about the ending, but I wonder if JK Rowling offered a big clue to anyone who’s read a gospel, in an interview with Canadian journalist Max Wyman.

Asked if she was a Christian, Rowling answered:

‘Yes, I am, which seems to offend the religious right far worse than if I said I thought there was no God. Every time I’ve been asked if I believe in God, I’ve said yes, because I do, but no one ever really has gone any more deeply into it than that, and I have to say that does suit me, because if I talk too freely about that I think the intelligent reader, whether 10 or 60, will be able to guess what’s coming in the books.’

Is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows heading for an Aslan-style finale?

One Response to “The Harry Potter finale secret”

  1. Chris said

    I have thought that would be the case after reading and thinking over the last book. 🙂 I have to laugh because a few of the anti- Harry Potter Christians that I know have changed their tune. Some who wanted the books banned in the beginning are now saying they are a great tool to reach the “unchurched”. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

 
