God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

The big Doctor Jesus Finale

Posted by Martin on July 2, 2007

Alright, now I’ve come out of the closet as a Whovian (ouch – up that boy’s Nerd Test score now!), I might as well blog about my first love. The final episode of Doctor Who Series 3 seems to have split fans down the middle. Some think it was a messy piece of trash TV filled with cop outs; others, like me, think it was wonderful, and a reminder of how lucky we are to have Russell T Davies writing for television.

I’ll try not to spoil it for those who’ve yet to enjoy – but if you really don’t want to know anything before you get around to watching it, you should probably read no more of this post.

As had been widely publicised long before the big onscreen reveal in episode 11, the finale saw the return of The Master – the thinking man’s supervillain. Played rather theatrically by current golden boy of British TV John Simm, his plan was to destroy the earth, and then the universe, and this wasn’t played out in comic book style – quite the opposite – as Davies’ made several visual nods to the Third Reich. In fact, the episode began in a kind of ‘what if the nazi’s had won the war?’ scenario, with a people enslaved, armed police patrolling the streets and giant weapons under construction everywhere.

However, the biggest cultural reference seemed to be 30BC. A people desperate for a saviour whose name had become legend. Check. Said saviour turning up and saying – ‘don’t look at me, there’s someone else coming along whose sandals I’m not worthy of untying…’ Check. And the conclusion – which I’ll not spell out here – is so very Christ-like that you’d be forgiven for thinking that well-known humanist Mr Davies has violently switched his religious allegiances. With a little explanation, this episode has perhaps unintentionally become the best evangelistic tract since Journey into Life. And that never had any monsters in it.

What’s that all about then? Could it be that Jesus’ story is so important, and so true, that it’s woven into the fabric of creativity itself? Did Russell T Davies have any idea Who’s story he was really telling? I’d love to know the answer to that.

Anyway – great television, and another successful season for the show they claimed was dead. Bring on the Christmas Special – allegedly starring Kylie Minogue!

2 Responses to “The big Doctor Jesus Finale”

  1. Chris said

    I had little or no idea what Mr. Davies personal views where. In fact I had wondered after a few of season 3 Dr Who. I watched the final last night and I was blown away. I loved it I thought it was great thought provoking TV. I wish we has some on this side of the pond instead of the garbage we have here. My thoughts at the end where wondering if Davies did what he wrote with or without realizing it. Really if you think about it how the Dr is saved is how Christianity spread too, besides being Christ’s story it is the story of how Christ’s story spread.

    I hope that came out making sense I ramble when I am tired. Here ends my rambling thoughts on Dr. Who.

    Oh and I liked the revelation about Jack at the end!

  2. Hi, there!..82554b0914ff0ee7739097022dae1a7e

Leave a Reply

 
