God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

Seriously, what is this?

Posted by Martin on June 28, 2007

This is my beloved nation’s best effort at an Olympic logo.

This proves that we are now totally rubbish at anything which even contains the word ‘Olympic’. 100 metres – fine, that’s to be expected. But logo designing? You can’t blame that performance on the wrong weather conditions.

It seems bizarre to me that so much money and so many people could have led to this. How did no-one ever step in and say, ‘it looks like vomit’? How did it come to this?

I know, I know – it’s easy to criticise – except I am one of about 65 million people who genuinely believes he could have done better. In fact, I’d wager my two year old son, Mini-GimD, would have done no worse. Even my unborn child… in fact… wait… is that our baby scan photo…?

3 Responses to “Seriously, what is this?”

  1. shannon said

    Seriously funny post.

  2. Krista said

    They must have asked the Geico caveman design it. Did you hear one of the olympic ads had to be pulled because it was giving people seizures?? Seriously, I’m not making this up! I saw it in the news about a month ago.

  3. Chris said

    Salt Lake went through a few designs before settling on the one they used. The even sold pins and such with the designs they dumped. Perhaps the powers that be will figure out this one is lacking and will do the same. My aunt lives in Salt Lake so she has tons of stuff with most of the logos. It is still far enough out they may hear the laughter and change it.

Leave a Reply

 
