God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

An emerging irony…

Posted by Martin on December 14, 2006

This is going to win me few friends in the blogosphere, but I’ve often been highly-critical of the so-called ’emerging’ or ’emergent’ church movement. I think it’s a bit of a bandwagon; I think it’s often used as an excuse for not having to commit to a holy lifestyle; I think it’s often about deconstruction and sniping at the church. I’m not saying there isn’t a lot of good in there – some great people are involved for instance – but it’s not my cup of English tea, and I’ve never been convinced that it’s anything more than a plaything for intellectuals and faux-intellectuals who just got bored of church.

So here’s the irony. I’ve just been asked to launch a ‘new expression of church’.

Which, let’s be honest, means I’m about to step into the world of emerging church. You’ve got to laugh really. I shall of course record my progress here. 

3 Responses to “An emerging irony…”

  1. postalhoot said

    GimD,

    I ran across this blog a while back and this new post called ‘Emerging Liberals??’ poses a few questions you might find interesting. Check it out and maybe pass along your own insight in the small survey.

    http://www.johmsmulo.com

    laj

  2. postalhoot said

    Sorry, that was supposed to be http://www.johnsmulo.com

    laj

  3. don’t confuse the two matey – a new expression of church, if you check out the Fresh Expressions website, could be a playgroup or a friday night football club – I always thought “emerging” was something different?

Leave a Reply

 
