God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

Reducing your world to a word

Posted by Martin on December 8, 2006

I thought I’d find the little blogging game below easy. Don’t get me wrong – it wasn’t exactly Ultimate Su Doku – but when you’ve only got one word to sum up some pretty big concepts, something quite interesting happens. Your brain is forced to cut to the chase. What is the one word which sums up my mother, for instance? I said ‘tea’ because she drinks enough of it to keep Tetley in business single-handed. And since a teacup is a fairly ever-present fixture in her hand, I guess you could say that it’s key to her character. Without playing the game however, I never would have defined her in that way (Mum, if you’re reading this, you’re more than a tea drinker by the way). But if an actor was going to play her in a movie, the teacup would be their first and most important prop.

There were far more searching questions in there – which I didn’t think I’d find an answer for. How would I describe my life? Give me ten sentences, and I couldn’t begin to sum it up. Give me a single word however, and somehow I was able to arrive at something which did. Same goes for where I want to be in 10 years, or indeed, the answer to the very open question, ‘yourself?’ Forced to arrive at one, key word which cuts right to the heart of who I am, I find I’m able to grasp on to something that feels true.

What an interesting exercise that has proved to be. So even if you haven’t been tagged, I suggest you copy the questions for yourself, and work through your own answers. If you want to – why not post them as comments on this blog post? I look forward to learning more about you – but I guarantee that just as I have, you’ll actually learn far more about yourself.

Leave a Reply

 
