God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

Listen to this

Posted by Martin on November 27, 2006

Nothing left to loseThis is what’s stuck on repeat play on my iPod right now – Mat Kearney’s Nothing Left to Lose. I was given a copy by my friend Annie who works for his record label, and I’m usually suspicious when someone like that says – ‘this guy’s great, really original’. It often means – ‘we’ve pressed 100,000 of these blasted tablemats – help me!’

Anyway – this is no tablemat. It is particularly original – Mat both sings and slow-raps to good effect, and there’s a flow to the album which is often missing from Christian music. I’m really enjoying it – but plug over – go and download some for yourself, or visit his website at www.matkearney.com

I shall write something on the issue of album misflow in CCM in a forthcoming post. I have something interesting to say about it, honest.

Leave a Reply

 
