God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

Floored

Posted by Martin on November 4, 2006

Had a meeting with a senior colleague the other day which was both highly uncomfortable and potentially invaluable. We sat down for coffee, spoke of trivial things, but then he cut to the heart of things:

‘You’re a great guy, and you have the potential to be a briliant youth worker, but as your friend, I need to be honest with you about some of your flaws…’

Now no-one likes THAT conversation. But with grace, he listed a few areas for improvement in my life, and I have to admit that at least one of them was pretty big. It was hard to hear. He’s a friend, and I respect him, but who ever wants to be taken down a peg or two? I like my peg position. I thought I was making good progress up the peg wall.

Anyway, a couple of days on, the dust has settled and I’ve realised something: I’m so grateful to him. I had no idea I was winding people up in these ways! Now that I know, at least I can have a rough stab at changing. So I guess the challenge is this: do you have people around you who can/are prepared to tell you about the things you need to work on? I didn’t – but from now on, I’ll be asking my colleague to give me a regular ‘how am I doing’ flaw update.

2 Responses to “Floored”

  1. marko said

    it was your haircut, wasn’t it? yeah, i figured. i’ve been meaning to bring that up with you also.

  2. Gim.D said

    Man, I knew it. Now I’ve got another thing to be paranoid about. No, it was something else… until you just said that…

Leave a Reply

 
