God is my Director

Youth ministry, movies, no drugs and a variable amount of Rock ‘n Roll

Argh – it’s a big needle

Posted by Martin on November 1, 2006

Haven’t posted for 24 hours or so due to being in shock. I took my son for his one year injections (including the allegedly ‘controversial’ MMR jab) yesterday, and realised an important thing: the needle went into him, but it hurt me more. He cried for about ten seconds after they pumped his leg full of these little viral strains, but then was easily distracted by a teddy bear on a roller skate (which admittedly, was pretty cool). But I wanted to punch the nurse in the face – she’d just stuck something big and sharp into my boy. I hadn’t expected that reaction.

I’m beginning to think that living through parenthood could be a physical picture that God gives us of his own feelings for and experiences of us, as his children. When we get hurt, we tend to wallow a little in our own feelings – but perhaps we should spare a thought for our heavenly dad; the guy sitting behind us. He’s thinking, man that’s a big needle – I hate it when they stick it into my boy (or girl).

It seems to me that all the things I feel for my son, must be the same feelings (times a million) that God feels for me as his child. It’s pretty cool to be loved that much.

2 Responses to “Argh – it’s a big needle”

  1. Len said

    Oh that hurts just remembering that moment for my girls. My wife couldn’t do it, so I had to take them.

  2. Kristine said

    I remember when I was about ten, I got my first mumps shot before going to camp for the summer. This was in the sixties, and my Mother hadn’t had the mumps either so I piped up and told the Doc that good Ol’ Mom needed one too. We bothe got stuck…and I believe now that I derived a certain amount of satisfaction that she was really going through what I was going through. Now how can that be interpreted…

    When I was nine I wanted to be a minister. The vicar told me girls can’tr be ministers. When I was thirteen I wanted to be an architect. My teachers said I needed more math but I wasn’t ready. My Dad had me take Algebra…I failed. Twenty three years later I took set and costume design. All in God’s time. He knows what it is we need when we need it. We are the ones that don’t see…sometimes it’s our parents. And I have been one of those parents. So my teen, now legal, is going to have a very tough time fighting her way back to a family she never knew.

Leave a Reply

 
